Data Format

Greetings:

I'm very interested in AstroSynthesis. As I have my own star and solar system information, I am interested in two features advertised for AstroSynthesis. They are:
1. "Data Import ... Or use the .xml import to bring in data stored in AstroSynthesis' XML format."
2. "Customizable Data ... You can customize your map to track your own data fields with each body on your map."

I am very curious to know more about these features. I'm a programmer and would like to code the necessary routines to convert my start chart data into the AstroSynthesis XML format, so that I can use my startchart in AstroSynthesis. Is this format public, or can I sign an NDA and get it?

As far as the customizable data, I assume we can include any number of XML fields with data? I need to add about 20-30 fields.

Thanks,
Mark Wilkinson
Tower Ravens LLC

Comments

• There's no 'official' xml format per se. The xml import/export is done via scripts, but the scripts can be modified or re-written to suit your needs. Check out the downloads section of nox (http://www.nbos.com/nox) for a bunch of sample scripts.

The API reference itself is can be found here:
    http://www.nbos.com/support/docs/AlienAPI/index.html
  • Thank you for sending me in the right direction. The AlienAPI is helpful, as is reviewing the XMLImport.AstroScript. Also, looking at an XML file that was exported from AstroSynthesis was also helpful.

I think it will be easiest if I export my data to XML format that the XMLImport.AstroScript expects. That seems the simplest way to get my data from my custom application and into AstroSynthesis.

I have a few questions:

1. Both the sector and body objects have an "ID" (string) field. Is this ID required? I assume it must be a unique identifier?