How to create plugins and import planets?

edited February 2012 in AstroSynthesis General
I've just bought Astrosynthesis 3.0 and it looks like it'll be a good way to represent my 3D SF setting.

However, I don't want to use it to generate stars etc (at the moment at, at least) - I've looked in the manual and found a way to import stars (pg 101-103), but that doesn't seem to mention importing planets and moons etc. Is there a way to import those too?

Also, the manual implies that it's possible to create plugins that generate stars an systems. Since I've used my own (very realistic) star system generator in the past, I'd like to attempt to turn that into a system generator plugin - however the manual doesn't seem to have any instructions about how to do this. I've seen mention of an API (or SDK or whatever the correct term is), but where can I find this?

If anyone's interested, I may be able to help with the science side of things too, since I've had a lot of experience worldbuilding and have extensive planetary science and astrophysics knowledge.

Comments

• Well, importing planets and all other data can be a big task, since it involves a lot of hierarchical data. Unfortunately there's no 'standard' format for such data.

The scripting API doc for version 2 is here:
    http://www.nbos.com/support/docs/AlienAPI/
    But again, this is for v2. v3's scripting doc hasnt been compiled yet. v3's api is largely compatible with v2, but its not 100%.

There is an XML import script for v2 here:
    http://www.nbos.com/nox/index.php?action=1001&id=7
    But I dont know if that will work ok with v3. Its the corresponding import script for the export script that ships with Astro.

One thing you might consider is creating a blank AstroDB file, and then writing directly to the file using a program that can access SQLite databases. Ultimately, I suspect thats probably the easiest since you can modify a program (in any language) to read data in whatever format you have it in.