Is it possible to draw Curved Walls

Hi,
I'm new to FM and thanks to these forums and the help, I'm getting my head around it.

I want to draw a room that has a semi-circular wall at the top. (I like to show raised walls as per the tutorial).

I haven't been able to work out how to do this. Can any one advise if it is possible please?

Cheers
Zeneshal

Comments

• Are you working with vector walls or walls with graphical raster fills?
  • Hi Mark,
    Unfortunately you are talking at a level beyond my understanding.

I just grabbed the software and started drawing. I have a workaround at the minute where I draw a circle, give it the characteristics of a wall and send it to the back so the outer curve protrudes beyond the floor.

I would have like to use some sort of "arc polygon" but I can't see any way to do this.

Regards,
    Doug
  • Zeneshal wrote:
    Unfortunately you are talking at a level beyond my understanding.

If that's the case, I would urge you strongly to work your way through the two tutorials. FM8 is simple to use, and you can do the tutorials in a few days time. Once you've done them, you'll be able to do most of what you want to do, regardless of what it is, or you'll know where to look up how to do it, if it's slipped out of memory.

Vector mapping in general uses vector symbols and objects made with solid colors from the FM8 color bar. (This is an extremely simplified definition, but it should work for the time being.)

Raster mapping in general uses bit map symbols and bit map fill styles.

The basic FM8 tutorial deals almost exclusively with vector mapping in this sense. You can get this tutorial free at:

http://www.nbos.com/nox/index.php&id=125

After you've worked your way through that get the advanced raster mapping tutorial free at:

http://www.nbos.com/vintyri/pdftu01.zip

and the free supporting materials at:

http://www.nbos.com/vintyri/tu01sptpack01.zip