Performance issues...

Hi, I'm new here on the boards, and I'm new to using the NBOS Character Sheet designer.

I've recently got obsessed with the Mutant Chronicles RPG, and figured that this would be a good way to put the Character Sheet Designer through its paces. The game has each skill having a number of "picks", and the total skill value being a function of that and the linked attribute. In keeping with the way that the official Mutant Chronicles sheets look, I wanted to have a checkbox per pick - for a total of 16 per skill, plus a mod box, plus stat mod box, plus an "Uncapped?" box, plus a final total box.

Anyway, after a lot of copy and pasting, I ended up with at template (attached) which is done to the end of "skills". Now, there's an issue with it: because the character sheet designer seems to run all updates after editing any values, and the fact that my skill update function seems to be processor intensive, this causes the viewer to slow down to the point of near unusability.

I have no idea if I can speed up my function in any way. I would very much like to be able to call the checkboxes SkillName.Picks, but the designer does not seem to like that. I would also very much like to be able to have an OnChange function (preferably for an object "class": i.e. call each checkbox of SkillName an UpdateBox<SkillName> and have things set up so that it knows what to do). Having an OnChange event would allow for significant run-time speed ups. If it is there already in the program, it is hidden away and not in the brief tutorial.

Anyway, I would appreciate if anything could be done about performance issues: either help me write a more efficient template in this style, or if it could be looked into on the application end.

Thank you

Comments