Fractal World Explorer - Labels? Mark up? Ease of use.

Hi - I'm a primarily an author, though also a gamer. I'm hoping you guys can help me.

I want is to use Fractal World Explorer as a creativity tool, if that makes sense: create a world and wander over it adding human features such as cities, roads and labels... you get the idea.

But does Fractal World Explorer do this? (There doesn't seem to be a demo, hence the question.)

Cheers and thanks

Martin

EDIT For wrong software title!

Comments

• There's a trial version. Under 'Downloads' in the site's menu.

http://www.nbos.com/download/download-trial.htm
  • ARGH! I meant to type does Fractal World Explorer do this?
  • FWE is a terrain generator. There is no markup capability in FWE - it just edits terrain. Its a free add-on designed to support Fractal Mapper. If you want to add roads, rivers, and other items on a map, you'd create the terrain in FWE, and then import it into FM to be able to add text, lines, and other objects.

FWE is included with the commercial version of Fractal Mapper. If you really want to take a look at it, there's a trial version of FWE in Astro 3's trial download.
  • Yes, thanks, just realized it had quietly installed itself as part of the evaluation copy. It's elegant and easy to use, but, of course, it doesn't have any sort of markup.

I think this is a pity.

The logical distinction between the two kinds of software makes less sense from the world building point of view;

I want to build and manage my world holistically, bringing to life trade routes and cultures and then spawn maps as required.

For SF world building, I often wouldn't need the maps - just the location of star ports and bases would be fine.