Setting and Passing Variables to Sub-Tables

I have a master table in which each line calls a slave table with 12 lines in it. Most of the time I want the line selection in the slave table to be based on the roll of a d12, but for one of the lines in the master table I need to modify the selection made from the slave table by a factor of -5, so I'm using a variable called DM to hold the selection value to be passed to the slave table via a sub-table pick.
As I don't want to make a call on the slave table using a negative number or zero I have an "if" statement in the master table to set any value of DM below 1 to a minimum of 1.

I have two problems. The first is that I need to stop the calculations in line 3 of the master table being displayed on-screen. I understand that a double equals sign (==) will do this and it works for the first two expressions, but when I try a double equals sign in the "if" statement I get an invalid expression error.

The second issue is that when I call the slave table using [#{DM} Slave] it doesn't use the adjusted variable DM to select the appropriate line in the slave table.

(The example below is not the actual table, but a simplified one to show my code)

Set: DM=1

Table: Master
1: [@Slave]
2: [@Slave]
3: {DM=={1d12}}{DM==DM-5}{if({DM >= 1}, {DM == DM}, {DM == 1})}[#{DM} Slave]

Table: Slave
Type: Lookup
Roll: 1d12
1:
2:
12:

Any advice would be much appreciated.

Comments

• I don't know if you can use "if" that way. It's a mathematical operation that picks one or the other value, not a execution branch -- that's what "when" if for. This works:

{DM=={1d12}}{DM==DM-5}{DM=={if({DM >= 1},DM,1)}}[#{DM} Slave]

You could also do it this way:

{DM=={1d12}}{DM==DM-5}[when]{$DM}<1[do][DM==1][end][#{DM} Slave]

• edited November 2018

Also, if you don't want choice #1 on Table: Slave to be selected 6x as often as choices 2 - 7, then you could just use

3: [#{1d7} Slave]

for line 3 of Table: Master.