Variable - Inline Variable Assignment Help

Hi all, I'm trying to get back into IPP after about 7 years or so away from it (and gaming). I'm trying to assign a variable as part of a table.

I've built a simple test generator to see what my output is because I'm not a coder, struggled in Computer Science, and have very limited exposure to draw examples from.

The basic rule I'm trying to emulate is - if a character is untrained in hand to hand combat, they parry based off of their Dex attribute and some math. If they have training, their skill does some math and determines their Parry level.

The math is simple = divide the source by 2, round down fractions, add three to the result.

DX 10 = 10/2 = 5 + 3 = 8
Brawl 15 = 15/2 = 7.5 -> 7 + 3 = 10

There are six total skills that a character can be trained in (for trial table purposes, I just used one). At this point, I don't care if the generator picks multiple hand to hand skills, I'm okay with inelegant code as long as it works. I just want to understand what I'm doing wrong about passing the variable and then using it outside of the table. If I even can with IPP. Then when I have something that works, I'll try to improve the elegance of the code in later versions.

Here is my test code:

maxreps: 1
set: DX = {10 + {1d6}}
set: IQ = {10 + {1d6}}

set: brawlingskill = {{1d10} + {$DX}}
set: boxingskill = {{1d12-2} + {$DX}}
set: karateskill = {{1d13-3} + {$DX}}
set: judoskill = {{1d13-3} + {$DX}}
set: sumoskill = {{1d12-2} + {$DX}}
set: wrestlingskill = {{1d12-2} + {$DX}}
set: brawlingparry = {! floor( ({$brawlingskill} / 2) + 3)}
set: boxingparry = {! floor( ({$boxingskill} / 2) + 3)}
set: karateparry = {! floor( ({$karateskill} / 2) + 3)}
set: judoparry = {! floor( ({$judoskill} / 2) + 3)}
set: sumoparry = {! floor( ({$sumoskill} / 2) + 3)}
set: wrestlingparry = {! floor( ({$wrestlingskill} / 2) + 3)}

set: PAR1 = {!floor( ({DX} / 2) + 3)}
set: PAR2 = {!floor( ({DX} / 2) + 3)}