Random select from multiple tables within a single external file

Hi all,

I am a bit new to this so please forgive me if I am duplicating something either in the help or has been mentioned in the forums before (my search-fu is off today).

I am trying to generate a quest that is picked from a random table within a single ipt file (quests.ipc), but I am not too sure on how to call this from the generator file. I have the following so far:

use: common\nbos\quests\quest1.ipt
Set: quest=[@DungeonHooks]
{quest}

but I would like to make quest choose one from the following tables
[DungeonHooks]
[RoyalQuests]
[ForestQuests]
[Doorways]

I thought I could be a little cheeky and use the inline table selector so it would look similar to

Set quest=[@DungeonHooks|@RoyalQuests|@ForestQuests|@Doorways] but it only seems to select the quests from the Dungeonhooks table.

Any help would be much appreciated.

Comments

• Sorted :smiley: I had missed out a few things like the table name in the generator and the leading | in setting the {quest} variable.

All working now, and just in case any other noobs have a similar issue, here is my working code.

Table: thequest
    set: quest=[|[!dungeonhooks]|[!royalquests]|[!forestquests]|[!doorways]]
    {quest}

• That's a valid approach, and you could also get exactly the same results from:

Table: thequest
    [!dungeonhooks]
    [!royalquests]
    [!forestquests]
    [!doorways]

This way would be easier if you wanted to weight them differently. Your way might be better if you are going to use that variable somewhere else as well.

• In addition, there's a key difference between inline choices [|one|two|three} and listing them on separate lines of a table: IPP evaluates all the inline choices, but not all the table entries.