Searching

I see a few fields in the search box and I can search on a single term like 'hospitable' or 'habitable'.

Searching Questions:

Is there a more fullsome search grammar that lets me specify multiple search terms? Or to include other database tables other than the columns I see in the search box? Is that a scripting activity?

Tangential:

Is there a way, having defined a subsector, to get the search box or a script to return all of the systems in the sector? I've not been having luck with that.

Thanks
Tom

Comments

• I meant to search more columns/fields than the limited set visible as columns in the search dialogue... vs. tables... I have no idea what the background schema looks like... I just want to search for strings throughout the full range of fields the database holds about a system.

• Look in the appendix of the help file - there's a section the Natural Language Search.

• Found the help and the examples, but no example of a two word field and how to make that queryable....

Case in point: I'd like to search for all the G type stars in my subsector (I have the subsector filtered to be the only visible one).

Whatever I enter as far as trying to use spectral class, I get an error dialog (about my syntax, not an access fault or anything) - either a syntax warning or an unrecognized search term.

How do I query Spectral Class? What's the syntax? I tried:

spectralclass
    spectral_class
    spectral class
    variations wrapped in ' '
    variations wrapped in " "

You may want to add a two word field example in the help file.

• Fiddling around further, I see that it is 'spectral' in the db rather than as the label in the system description.

I suppose I can alleviate any questions about what the data base columns are by simply downloading SQLite and looking at the schema - tables, column names, field types, etc.

I think I'm okay on this searching stuff for the moment, thanks again.