Dice Pool Assignment and Total Assistance

Hey all, new poster. I'm a very intelligent computer user with a broad knowledge base but I am not a programmer.

I need assistance with a random NPC generator that I'm trying to get to work. I'm starting with a human and the racial mins/maxs to get the algorithm correct. After that, I'll adjust for different races.

I have a points pool of 54. Racial minimums will use 6 points over six attributes, for a total of 36. This leaves 18. All 36 + 18 must be used.

I want to take that remaining 18 and randomly assign from 0-6 points across the six attributes while counting down from the 18. I must use all 18 points. I understand a 1d7-1 roll for the random 0-6. I have a code to count down from 18 that I'll post below.

My problems are that it doesn't stop counting at 0, and for some reason, on occasion, I get a total of 55 points and/or a dice code below the racial minimum of 6.
Set: att1 = 18
set: att1a = {1d7 - 1}
set: att1b = {!{$att1} - {$att1a}}

set: att2a = {1d7 - 1}
set: att2b = {!{$att1b} - {$att2a}}

set: att3a = [when] {$att2b} > 6 [do] {1d7 - 1} [else] {1d{$att2b}} [end]
set: att3b = {!{$att2b} - {$att3a}}

set: att4a = [when] {$att3b} > 6 [do] {1d7 - 1} [else] {1d{$att3b}} [end]
set: att4b = {!{$att3b} - {$att4a}}

set: att5a = [when] {$att4b} > 6 [do] {1d7 - 1} [else] {1d{$att4b}} [end]
set: att5b = {!{$att4b} - {$att5a}}

set: att6a = [when] {$att5b} > 0 [do] {$att5b} [else] 0 [end]

Set: Str = {6 + {$att1a}}
Set: Kno = {6 + {$att2a}}
Set: Mec = {6 + {$att3a}}
Set: Per = {6 + {$att4a}}
Set: Dex = {6 + {$att5a}}
Set: Tec = {6 + {$att6a}}

# The following is just so I could total up the point usage and see it at a glance during my trials and errors.

Set: att2 = {!{$att1} - {$att1a}}
Set: att3 = {!{$att2} - {$att2a}}
Set: att4 = {!{$att3} - {$att3a}}
Set: att5 = {!{$att4} - {$att4a}}
Set: att6 = {!{$att5} - {$att5a}}